www.facebook.com/salefonline                           © 2014 SALEF All Rights Reserved

421 South Bixel St. Suite A

Los Angeles, CA 90017

Tel: 213-480-1052

Our Mission

 SALEF’s mission is to promote the civic participation and representation of the Salvadoran and other Latino communities in the U.S., promote the economic development and democracy in El Salvador, as well as to advocate for its economic, educational, and political advancement and growth.

SALEF promotes giving back to our communities, thus scholarship recipients are expected to complete community service hours and receipt of the scholarship award is dependent on completion of their pledge.

Throughout the years, we have brought awareness to the Latino community of the importance of becoming naturalized citizens. It is vital to increase the Latino voice in the political and electoral process. 
 

Our Core Values

Social Justice: We are rooted in social justice, political access, and economic prosperity. We promote progressive policy goals in the United States and throughout the world. 

 

Advancing Democracy: We advocate for the democratic advancement of all people, with a special emphasis on Latinos, Central Americans, and immigrants in the United States and the people of El Salvador.

Leadership Development: We promote leadership and offer opportunities to empower individuals and the community to lead efforts for social justice.

Education: We stress the importance of education and individual success to the community.

Trust: We are a trustworthy organization. We aspire to uphold the trust of the community with transparency and mutual accountability.

Our Board Members

Carlos Vaquerano
Chair
 
David Giron
Office of Councilmember Mitch O'Farrell
Vice President
Erica Lizano, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor, CSUSB
Secretary
Florentino Salazar, Esq.
Gibson Dunn, LLP
Treasurer

Jorge Nuñez
Office of State Senator Kevin De Leon
Olivia Calderon
Office of Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB)
 
Jose Atilio Hernandez
IDEATE California

Our Staff

Carlos Antonio H. Vaquerano
Board President & Founder
Chvaquerano@salef.org
 
Jocelyn Duarte, M.A.
Interim, Executive Director 
Jduarte@salef.org
Vanessa Lopez
Health 4 All Kids Coordinator
vlopez@salef.org
Jasmin N. Tobar, MSW
Mentoring & Academic Programs Manager 
Jtobar@salef.org
Briana Rodriguez
Scholarship & Volunteer Coordinator
Brodriguez@salef.org
Leonor Guzman 
Citizenship Services
Lguzman@salef.org
Karla Cativo, M.A. 
Outreach & Organizing Manager
Kcativo@salef.org
Brenda Mejia
Payroll & Bookkeeping
Bmejia@salef.org
Fatima Vanegas
Accountant
FVanegas@salef.org